The Best Korean Retinol Serums and Creams
K-Secret's Seoul 1988 retinal serum is our pick: gentle, fragrance-free and the most recommended Korean retinal in the Reddit threads we read, though the "2%" is the liposome, not the retinal. Isntree's is the barrier-first choice.
The short answer
- K-Secret Seoul 1988 Serum is our pick: the most recommended in the Reddit K-beauty threads we read, gentle and fragrance-free. Its “2%” is the liposome, not the retinal.
- For barrier repair alongside, Isntree Hyper Retinol EX 1.0; for more strength, Celimax’s retinal booster (it contains spicules).
- Most Korean retinoids are low-dose on purpose. If you want strength, see our main retinol guide.
- Buy from official storefronts: Reddit users report fakes.
How we chose: we read the ingredient lists of the Korean retinoids Reddit users name most, kept fragrance-free formulas with complete labels, and did the label math on every stated percentage. We did not test them. Our method
Our picks at a glance
Best overallK-Secret Seoul 1988 Serum: Retinal Liposome 2% + Black Ginseng
Best barrier-first formulaIsntree Hyper Retinol EX 1.0 Serum
Best step-up retinalCelimax The Vita-A Retinal Shot Tightening Booster
Best for beginnersBeauty of Joseon Revive Retinol Firming Moisturizer
Best for dark spots (the retinal is a trace)Purito TXA 6, Niacinamide 10 Retinal Serum
Best night creamBy Wishtrend Vitamin A-mazing Bakuchiol Night Cream
The retinal dose one Korean “retinal serum” prints on its own label. K-Secret’s “Retinal Liposome 1%” cream prints 100 ppm, which is 0.01%. A name is not a dose.
Every pick, side by side
| Pick | Retinoid and list position | Strength in the name | Added fragrance | Drying alcohol |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| K-Secret Seoul 1988 Serum: Retinal Liposome 2% + Black Ginseng Best overall | retinal (27th of 41) | 2% retinal liposome (not 2% retinal) | None listed | None listed |
| Isntree Hyper Retinol EX 1.0 Serum Best barrier-first formula | retinyl palmitate (13th of 42), retinol (16th of 42) | Not stated | None listed | None listed |
| Celimax The Vita-A Retinal Shot Tightening Booster Best step-up retinal | retinal (19th of 31) | Not stated | None listed | None listed |
| Beauty of Joseon Revive Retinol Firming Moisturizer Best for beginners | retinol (32nd of 40) | Not stated | None listed | None listed |
| Purito TXA 6, Niacinamide 10 Retinal Serum Best for dark spots (the retinal is a trace) | retinal (27th of 39) | Not stated | None listed | None listed |
| By Wishtrend Vitamin A-mazing Bakuchiol Night Cream Best night cream | retinal (31st of 42) | Not stated | None listed | None listed |
Best overall
K-Secret Seoul 1988 Serum: Retinal Liposome 2% + Black Ginseng
The Korean retinal Reddit users recommend most: gentle, hydrating, fragrance-free, with niacinamide and ginseng. The "2%" is the liposome carrier; the retinal itself is a low dose.

Label facts for K-Secret Seoul 1988 Serum: Retinal Liposome 2% + Black Ginseng
- Retinoid
- Retinal, 27th of 41 ingredients
- Also
- Bakuchiol, 38th on the list
- Strength
- 2% retinal liposome (not 2% retinal)
- Added fragrance
- None listed
- Drying alcohol
- None listed
- Supporting
- Niacinamide, glycerin, cholesterol, peptides and vitamin E
Read from the label on September 29, 2026. Labels list ingredients by amount down to 1%, then in any order, so a position is not a percentage. Formulas change; check your box.
Good for
- A first retinal that is hard to over-do
- Dry and dehydrated skin
- Nightly use from early on, if your skin agrees
Skip it if
- You want a strong dose: this is gentle by design
- You cannot buy from the brand's official store (see the counterfeit note below)
In the Korean and Asian beauty threads we read, this serum came up more than any other retinoid. The label explains the gentle reputation: retinal is 27th of 41, low on a list with niacinamide 6th, ginseng and cholesterol, and nothing to scent it.
The label math matters here. The serum does not print its retinal dose. Its sibling, the Seoul 1988 Cream sold as “Retinal Liposome 1%”, does: retinal 100 ppm, which is 0.01%. If the serum’s liposome is loaded the same way, its “2%” would be about 0.02% retinal, the figure Reddit users quote too. That would be a gentle dose, not a weak product: it is simply not a 2% anything.
Flaws but not dealbreakers
- A low retinal dose: results come slowly.
- Reddit users report fakes of this serum; buy from the brand's official storefront.
Full ingredient list (41 ingredients, retinoids marked)
Water, glycerin, dipropylene glycol, caprylic/capric triglyceride, 1,2-hexanediol, niacinamide, butylene glycol, methyl gluceth-20, polyglyceryl-3 methylglucose distearate, panax ginseng root extract, hydrogenated lecithin, sorbitan stearate, ammonium acryloyldimethyltaurate/vp copolymer, macadamia ternifolia seed oil, carbomer, tromethamine, betaine, tocopherol, ethylhexylglycerin, helianthus annuus (sunflower) seed oil, adenosine, disodium edta, cholesterol, polyglyceryl-10 oleate, brassica campestris (rapeseed) sterols, phytosteryl/behenyl/octyldodecyl lauroy glutamate, retinal, silica, aluminum/ magnesium hydroxide stearate, potassium cetyl phosphate, pentaerythrityl tetra-di-t-butyl hydroxyhydrocinnamate, arctium lappa root extract, cnidium officinale root extract, dioscorea japonica root extract, paeonia suffruticosa root extract, rehmannia chinensis root extract, 3-0-ethyl ascorbic acid, bakuchiol, sh-oligopeptide-1, sh-oligopeptide-2, sh-polypeptide-1
As listed in Avina’s catalog on September 29, 2026. The list printed on your box is the one that counts.
Best barrier-first formula
Isntree Hyper Retinol EX 1.0 Serum
Retinol, a retinyl ester and bakuchiol, around five ceramides, cholesterol, niacinamide and five peptides. The densest barrier list among our picks, with no fragrance.

Label facts for Isntree Hyper Retinol EX 1.0 Serum
- Retinoid
- Retinyl palmitate (13th) and retinol (16th) of 42 ingredients
- Also
- Bakuchiol, 7th on the list
- Strength
- Not stated in the product name
- Added fragrance
- None listed
- Drying alcohol
- None listed
- Supporting
- Ceramides, niacinamide, glycerin, panthenol, allantoin and centella
Read from the label on September 29, 2026. Labels list ingredients by amount down to 1%, then in any order, so a position is not a percentage. Formulas change; check your box.
Good for
- Combination and dry skin that wants retinol and repair together
- A second step after a gentle start
- Anyone who likes a full support list
Skip it if
- You want to know the strength: the "1.0" is not explained on the label
Niacinamide is 4th, bakuchiol 7th, retinyl palmitate 13th of 42 and retinol 16th of 42. Then five ceramides, cholesterol, madecassic acid from centella and five peptides. On paper it is built to keep a retinoid comfortable.
Retinyl palmitate adds little on its own (skin-model research by Procter & Gamble found it far less active than retinol or retinyl propionate), so treat this as a retinol serum with extras, not a stack of three actives.
Flaws but not dealbreakers
- No stated strength.
- A long list (42 ingredients) if you are trying to trace a reaction.
Full ingredient list (42 ingredients, retinoids marked)
WATER, BUTYLENE GLYCOL, GLYCERIN, NIACINAMIDE, DIBUTYL ADIPATE, CAPRYLIC/CAPRIC TRIGLYCERIDE, BAKUCHIOL, AMMONIUM ACRYLOYLDIMETHYLTAURATE/VP COPOLYMER, 1,2-HEXANEDIOL, HYDROGENATED LECITHIN, BETAINE, HYDROXYACETOPHENONE, RETINYL PALMITATE, SODIUM STEAROYL GLUTAMATE, TOCOPHEROL, RETINOL, ALLANTOIN, PANTHENOL, POLYSORBATE 20, ADENOSINE, CETEARYL ALCOHOL, DISODIUM EDTA, STEARIC ACID, DIPROPYLENE GLYCOL, HYDROXYPROPYL CYCLODEXTRIN, POLYDEXTROSE, CERAMIDE NP, ASIATICOSIDE, MADECASSIC ACID, ASIATIC ACID, CERAMIDE NS, CHOLESTEROL, PHYTOSPHINGOSINE, FERULIC ACID, CERAMIDE AS, CERAMIDE AP, COPPER TRIPEPTIDE-1, ACETYL HEXAPEPTIDE-8, PALMITOYL PENTAPEPTIDE-4, PALMITOYL TETRAPEPTIDE-7, PALMITOYL TRIPEPTIDE-1, CERAMIDE EOP
As listed in Avina’s catalog on September 29, 2026. The list printed on your box is the one that counts.
Best step-up retinal
Celimax The Vita-A Retinal Shot Tightening Booster
Retinal sits higher on its list than on our other Korean picks, in a short, fragrance-free formula with niacinamide and panthenol. It also contains spicules.

Label facts for Celimax The Vita-A Retinal Shot Tightening Booster
- Retinoid
- Retinal, 19th of 31 ingredients
- Strength
- Not stated in the product name
- Added fragrance
- None listed
- Drying alcohol
- None listed
- Spicules
- HYDROLYZED SPONGE, 25th: tiny needle-like particles that can prickle
- Supporting
- Niacinamide, glycerin, panthenol, peptides and vitamin E
Read from the label on September 29, 2026. Labels list ingredients by amount down to 1%, then in any order, so a position is not a percentage. Formulas change; check your box.
Good for
- Experienced users who find Korean retinoids too mild
- Texture and firmness goals
- People who like a light booster texture
Skip it if
- Sensitive or broken skin: the spicules can prickle
- Brand-new retinoid users
Retinal is 19th of 31, with niacinamide 6th and panthenol 10th. The catch is hydrolyzed sponge, listed 25th: the tiny, needle-like spicules behind many K-beauty “shot” products. In the r/AsianBeauty threads, users call it the more potent choice and warn sensitive skin about the spicules, which is why this is not a first retinoid.
Flaws but not dealbreakers
- Spicules: a prickling feel on sensitive skin.
- No stated strength on the label.
Full ingredient list (31 ingredients, retinoids marked)
WATER, BUTYLENE GLYCOL, GLYCERIN, CAPRYLIC/CAPRIC TRIGLYCERIDE, CETEARYL ALCOHOL, NIACINAMIDE, DIISOSTEARYL MALATE, 1,2-HEXANEDIOL, POLYPROPYLSILSESQUIOXANE, PANTHENOL, CETEARYL OLIVATE, CETEARYL GLUCOSIDE, SORBITAN OLIVATE, LECITHIN, CARBOMER, ARGININE, DIMETHICONE/VINYL DIMETHICONE CROSSPOLYMER, TOCOPHEROL, RETINAL, XANTHAN GUM, ETHYLHEXYLGLYCERIN, ADENOSINE, SORBITAN ISOSTEARATE, SODIUM LACTATE, HYDROLYZED SPONGE, DISODIUM EDTA, POLYSORBATE 20, ASCORBIC ACID, GLUCOSE, PALMITOYL TRIPEPTIDE-1, PALMITOYL TETRAPEPTIDE-7
As listed in Avina’s catalog on September 29, 2026. The list printed on your box is the one that counts.
Best for beginners
Beauty of Joseon Revive Retinol Firming Moisturizer
Retinol near the end of a gentle moisturizer with a ceramide, squalane, allantoin and ginseng. The lowest-placed retinoid in our picks, and fragrance-free.

Label facts for Beauty of Joseon Revive Retinol Firming Moisturizer
- Retinoid
- Retinol, 32nd of 40 ingredients
- Strength
- Not stated in the product name
- Added fragrance
- None listed
- Drying alcohol
- None listed
- Supporting
- Ceramide, glycerin, squalane, allantoin, hyaluronic acid and vitamin E
Read from the label on September 29, 2026. Labels list ingredients by amount down to 1%, then in any order, so a position is not a percentage. Formulas change; check your box.
Good for
- A first, very gentle retinoid
- Sensitive skin
- One step at night: moisturizer and retinoid together
Skip it if
- You want visible change soon: this is a light touch
Retinol is 32nd of 40, nearly last, in a cream whose job is mostly moisture: squalane 17th, allantoin, a ceramide and ginseng. It is the gentlest way in on this list, and a sensible bridge before one of the stronger picks. Beauty of Joseon’s Revive Eye Serum, a Reddit favorite that many use on the whole face, is in our eye cream guide.
Flaws but not dealbreakers
- A very low placement: gentle, and slow.
- No stated strength.
Full ingredient list (40 ingredients, retinoids marked)
Water, Glycerin, 2,3-Butanediol, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Isononyl Isononanoate, Hydroxyethyl Urea, Elaeis Guineensis (Palm) Kernel Oil, 1,2-Hexanediol, Dipropylene Glycol, Polyglyceryl-2 Stearate, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Elaeis Guineensis (Palm) Oil, Tromethamine, Glyceryl Stearate, Hydroxyacetophenone, Stearyl Alcohol, Squalane, Caprylyl Glycol, Jojoba Esters, Camellia Japonica Seed Oil, Allantoin, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Extract, Ethylhexylglycerin, Xanthan Gum, Macadamia Ternifolia Seed Oil, Adenosine, Sodium Hyaluronate, Ceramide NP, Sodium Phytate, Butylene Glycol, Phytosphingosine, Retinol, Tridecane, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Panax Ginseng Root Extract, Coptis Japonica Root Extract, Tocopherol, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Candida Bombicola/Glucose/Methyl Rapeseedate Ferment, Glycolipids
As listed in Avina’s catalog on September 29, 2026. The list printed on your box is the one that counts.
Best for dark spots (the retinal is a trace)
Purito TXA 6, Niacinamide 10 Retinal Serum
A dark-spot serum first: niacinamide 10% and tranexamic acid 6%, both printed on the label. The retinal is printed too, at 25 ppm, which is 0.0025%.

Label facts for Purito TXA 6, Niacinamide 10 Retinal Serum
- Retinoid
- Retinal, 27th of 39 ingredients
- Strength
- Not stated in the product name
- Added fragrance
- None listed
- Drying alcohol
- None listed
- Supporting
- Ceramide, niacinamide, glycerin, bisabolol, allantoin and centella
Read from the label on September 29, 2026. Labels list ingredients by amount down to 1%, then in any order, so a position is not a percentage. Formulas change; check your box.
Good for
- Uneven tone and post-acne marks
- Pairing with a separate retinoid
- People who value a label that prints its doses
Skip it if
- You are buying it for retinal: at 0.0025% it is a trace
We include it because the label is unusually honest, and because it shows how small a Korean retinoid dose can be. Niacinamide is 2nd at 10%, tranexamic acid 3rd at 6%, and retinal 27th of 39, printed as 25 ppm. Buy it for the first two; use a real retinoid alongside if you want one.
Flaws but not dealbreakers
- A trace of retinal, despite the name.
- High-percentage niacinamide can irritate some skin.
Full ingredient list (39 ingredients, retinoids marked)
Aqua/water, niacinamide(10 %), tranexamic acid(6 %), glycerin, caprylic/capric triglyceride, 1,2-hexanediol, methylpropanediol, pentylene glycol, pvp, ammonium acryloyldimethyltaurate/vp copolymer, butylene glycol, agar, gellan gum, ethylhexylglycerin, sodium citrate, hydroxyacetophenone, citric acid, hydroxydecyl ubiquinone, adenosine, lactococcus ferment lysate, hydrogenated lecithin, centella asiatica extract, ficus carica (fig) fruit extract, fructooligosaccharides, cyanocobalamin, xanthan gum, retinal(25 ppm), ceramide np, arginine, tocopherol, glutathione, bisabolol, helianthus annuus (sunflower) seed oil, allantoin, xanthophylls, sodium chloride, phenylpropanol, levulinic acid, sodium levulinate
As listed in Avina’s catalog on September 29, 2026. The list printed on your box is the one that counts.
Best night cream
By Wishtrend Vitamin A-mazing Bakuchiol Night Cream
Bakuchiol, and retinal low on the list, in a night cream with niacinamide, a ceramide, centella and a peptide. Fragrance-free.

Label facts for By Wishtrend Vitamin A-mazing Bakuchiol Night Cream
- Retinoid
- Retinal, 31st of 42 ingredients
- Also
- Bakuchiol, 13th on the list
- Strength
- Not stated in the product name
- Added fragrance
- None listed
- Drying alcohol
- None listed
- Supporting
- Ceramide, niacinamide, glycerin, centella, hyaluronic acid and peptide
Read from the label on September 29, 2026. Labels list ingredients by amount down to 1%, then in any order, so a position is not a percentage. Formulas change; check your box.
Good for
- A gentle retinoid night cream
- Dry skin in winter
- People who want bakuchiol and retinal together
Skip it if
- You want a strong retinoid dose
Bakuchiol is 13th and retinal 31st of 42, with niacinamide 10th, centella and a ceramide. Bakuchiol has one randomized trial showing retinol-like results with less stinging, which suits a cream designed to be gentle.
Flaws but not dealbreakers
- Retinal low on the list: likely a gentle dose.
- No stated strength.
Full ingredient list (42 ingredients, retinoids marked)
Aqua (water), glycerin, hydrogenated polydecene, caprylic/capric triglyceride, betaine, phenyl trimethicone, polyglyceryl-3 methylglucose distearate, cetyl alcohol, macadamia integrifolia seed oil, niacinamide, glyceryl glucoside, glyceryl stearate, bakuchiol, trehalose, behenyl alcohol, pentaerythrityl distearate, 1,2-hexanediol, polyglyceryl-10 laurate, ammonium acryloyldimethyltaurate/vp copolymer, dipropylene glycol, hydroxyacetophenone, laminaria japonica extract, eclipta prostrata leaf extract, sodium stearoyl glutamate, ethylhexylglycerin, adenosine, glucose, fructooligosaccharides, butylene glycol, sodium hyaluronate, retinal, hydrogenated lecithin, beta-glucan, hydrolyzed hyaluronic acid, centella asiatica extract, ficus carica (fig) fruit extract, ceramide np, tocopherol, collagen, leuconostoc/radish root ferment filtrate, palmitoyl tripeptide-8, dextran
As listed in Avina’s catalog on September 29, 2026. The list printed on your box is the one that counts.
Are Korean retinols weaker?
Mostly, and on purpose. K-beauty tends to pair a small retinoid dose with a long list of soothing and hydrating ingredients, aiming for skin that never peels rather than the fastest change. The labels that print their doses make it concrete: 100 ppm of retinal in K-Secret’s cream, 25 ppm in Purito’s serum. A stated Western retinal such as Geek & Gorgeous A-Game 10 is 0.1%, 40 times Purito’s.
That is not a flaw if you are starting out or your skin is reactive. If you have used a retinoid for months and want more, Reddit users in these threads often suggest a stated-strength retinal or to adapalene; our main retinol guide covers both. And whatever the dose, the percentage on the front can describe a carrier or a complex, and list order below 1% is not a strength (21 CFR 701.3).
How we picked
We read the labels of the Korean retinoids Reddit users mention most in the r/AsianBeauty, r/KoreanBeauty and r/SkincareAddiction threads, plus every Korean retinoid face product in Avina’s catalog with a complete label. We dropped formulas with added fragrance, did the math on every percentage in a name, and flagged spicules. Every fact on the cards is generated from the label.
We did not test these on skin or run a panel, and we say so on every post. Our full method explains what we check and why.
Also considered
- SKIN1004 Retinol 0.2 Boosting Shot Ampoule. Retinol 8th of 27 and retinal 16th of 27, squalane and centella, fragrance-free: a good formula, but it also lists hydrolyzed sponge, so it is not the gentle start its price suggests.
- IOPE Retinol Expert RX 2% Reti-Jection Serum. From Amorepacific’s IOPE retinol line, but retinol sits 33rd of 39 and the “2%” is not explained on the label.
- Anua Retinol 0.3% + Niacin Renewing Serum. A stated 0.3% retinol with a long barrier list, but it also lists tea tree oil and a salicylic acid derivative, two things we keep away from a retinoid on sensitive skin.
- Some By Mi Retinol Intense Reactivating Serum. Reddit users call it mild, but fragrance (parfum) is listed 64th.
- Medicube Deep Vita A Retinol Serum. Six vitamin A forms plus bakuchiol on one label, and fragrance listed 15th.
- Laneige Retinol Firming Cream Treatment. Fragrance is listed 17th, ahead of the retinol.
Questions people ask
What is the best Korean retinol?
For most people, K-Secret's Seoul 1988 retinal serum: gentle, fragrance-free and the most recommended in the Reddit K-beauty threads we read. Isntree's Hyper Retinol EX 1.0 is the barrier-first alternative, and Celimax's retinal booster is the stronger step for experienced users.
Are Korean retinol products weaker?
Often, by design. Many list the retinoid low and pad it with soothing ingredients. Where a label prints the dose, it can be tiny: K-Secret's cream prints 100 ppm (0.01%) and Purito's serum 25 ppm (0.0025%). Experienced users often move to a stronger retinal or adapalene.
What does "retinal liposome 2%" mean?
The percentage describes the liposome, a carrier that wraps the retinal, not the retinal itself. K-Secret's own cream label prints 100 ppm of retinal for a "1%" liposome, so if the serum's liposome is loaded the same way, a "2%" liposome would be about 0.02% retinal; the serum does not print its dose.
What is hydrolyzed sponge in Korean skincare?
Tiny needle-like spicules from marine sponge, used in "shot" products to prickle the skin and, the brands say, help absorption. They can sting sensitive or broken skin. Two of the formulas we checked list it.
Can I use Korean retinol while pregnant?
The AAD says retinoids should not be used during pregnancy, and that includes low-dose Korean retinal and retinol. Ask your clinician about alternatives.
How do I avoid fake K-beauty on Amazon?
Buy from the brand's official storefront or listings shipped and sold by the retailer itself, check the seller name before you pay, and be wary of prices far below everywhere else. Reddit users report fakes of popular Korean retinoids.
Sources
- American Academy of Dermatology: Retinoid or retinol?
- American Academy of Dermatology: Pregnancy skin care
- 21 CFR 701.3: order of ingredients on cosmetic labels (the 1% rule)
- Sorg et al.: retinoids in cosmeceuticals, review (2006)
- Kim et al.: encapsulated retinal vs retinol, split-face trial (2021)
- Fluhr et al.: tolerance of topical retinaldehyde vs retinoic acid (1999)
- Bjerke et al.: retinoid activity in human skin models, including retinyl esters (2021; Procter & Gamble, maker of Olay)
- Dhaliwal et al.: bakuchiol vs retinol, randomized double-blind study (2019)
- Commission Regulation (EU) 2024/996: vitamin A limits in cosmetics
- Reddit, r/AsianBeauty: "What retinal is the best?" (2025)
- Reddit, r/AsianBeauty: "Retinal recommendation: SCINIC vs Celimax vs 107 Soseo vs KSecret" (2026)
- Reddit, r/KoreanBeauty: "Any good Korean retinol?" (2024)
- Reddit, r/KoreanBeauty: "Best Retinol/Retinal?" (2025)
- Reddit, r/AsianBeauty: "Any beginner-friendly AB retinol/retinal recs?" (2026)
- Reddit, r/30PlusSkinCare: "Your fave retinol?" (2026)
Written by Avina Picks. Not clinically reviewed, and not a treatment plan: ask a dermatologist about a skin condition, a prescription, pregnancy or breastfeeding.
A retinoid works on the nights you use it
Avina keeps your morning and evening routines with your real products, and records the nights you did them, so a slow start with a retinoid stays on track. It is the same catalog every label on this page was read from.
